a new blog, a new facebook page, and a new etsy shop

It’s been ages since my last update. No wonder. It’s been ages since I made lace.

While I tried to include designs that contained bobbin lace on the pages of this blog, I realized that more and more of my creations contained no lace at all. Time will surely come when I dive back into bobbin lace making, but for now, I am focusing on my other passions, namely jewelry, home décor, and natural cosmetics and homemaking products.

I will blog about them at my new blog. You can also follow my new creative endeavors on my new Facebook page. And many of the designs from the blog and Facebook will be available for purchase in my new Etsy shop.

After much thought, I have decided to keep Bobbin Lace Making blog public, even though I do not plan to regularly contribute to it in the foreseeable future. It is obvious that it still has many daily visitors.

Please enjoy my most popular posts, such as “Make your own bobbin lace bolster pillow” or “Make your own bobbins” – or browse around and see if you can find something that you like. And if you are up for it, feel free to visit to my shop, my Facebook page, or my new blog!

May your bobbins continue to clink in the rhythm of happiness.

2 responses to “a new blog, a new facebook page, and a new etsy shop”

  1. Katrina Ellison says :

    I am just starting out in bobbin lace and I love your items made with wire. I’m not to the jewelry level though I like it, I don’t see myself doing it. But I think the wire lace would be pretty used to accent pictures and ornaments. What gauge and hardness of wire do you recommend for a beginner to start playing with?

    • Jana says :

      You are right – wire lace ornaments are gorgeous! Making a silver wire star for our Christmas tree was the thought that got me started in wire bobbin lace. Funny thing is that, after all these years, I am yet to make that star :)
      As for wire – I use dead soft wire for both lace making and to make my own findings. As for gauge, the thinner the wire, the more it resembles a thread – and the more fragile it is. I first started with 34 gauge, but it would snap way too much, making the while process quite frustrating. I played with 32 gauge a little and loved working with it, but the finished pieces felt too flimsy to wear – though they looked really pretty. I guess for home decor items, this gauge might work really well, especially if the pieces aren’t meant to be handled on a regular basis. Ultimately, I ended up working mostly with 30 gauge; even though at that gauge, one is definitely aware that she’s working with wire and not a thread. Without precision and attention to detail, twists and turns suddenly start resembling knots and mistakes.

Leave a Reply

