lacey pendant with garnet red beads

Not too long ago, I made and fell in love with these earrings:

I must confess, though: I was not prepared for the number of compliments I would receive whenever I wear them. It’s exciting and scary at the same time to hear myself respond, “Thank you so much! I made them myself.”

When we visited with our friends a couple of weeks ago, Lesya, our wonderful hostess, was shocked to find out that by “making them myself” I meant weaving and braiding them from scratch, starting with nothing more than a thin wire. Had it not been for her, I would have never realized that there are many people who associate the term “handmade” with a simple assembly of pre-made pieces. Thanks to Lesya, I learned that I need to emphasize the complicated process of bobbin lace making that goes into each piece of jewelry that I make.

“I would love to make something just for you – have a look around my shop, and pick whatever you like,” I suggested like I often do to say thank you to my friends. Deep down I knew that to properly thank her for the magnificent seven-course Ukrainian feast she prepared for us, I probably owed her a diamond tiara. At least.

She got back to me the next week, and said she still liked the earrings I wore to her house the best. She was curious, however, if I could make a pendant using the same design.

Could I?

I had been thinking about and planning to make a pendant to match these earrings for weeks! Lesya’s request couldn’t have made me happier. I finally had a reason to make it. I immediately sent her an email with different colour and design choices, and based on her answer, I made this pendant:

But before I could secretly wrap it and mail it to her as a surprise present the following day, she contacted me again, and asked if I could make her pendant to look just like my earrings. Well, of course I could. And so, in two days, I had two pendants ready, one cuter than the other:

Ultimately, Lesya picked the first one. The original Lesya pendant. I can’t wait to give it to her this weekend at our favourite Indian restaurant.

And what will happen to the other pendant? Well – I will try to find it a good and loving owner. Do you know anyone?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “lacey pendant with garnet red beads”

  1. Susan L. says :

    I saw your earrings on Pinterest and they immediately caught my imagination. So, of course, I searched to see the process, as I love all things wire.

    Holy moley! You have MAD SKILLS!!!! And I compliment you on taking a beautiful traditional art and remaking it anew. Wow! Keep up the amazing work!

    • Jana says :

      Wow, Susan, thank you for the compliment! It’s been a while since I made bobbin lace jewelry as I am busy with a newborn, but I can’t wait to take it on again!

  2. NORMAND says :

    Vos bijoux en dentelle sont magnifique dommage pas d’explications pour les faire super bravo

Leave a Reply

